Chimney Rock State Park
Staggering Views at Chimney Rock NC and right near Lake Lure too!
COME EXPERIENCE AMAZING HEIGHTS
Between 1880 and 1885 Jerome B. Freeman commissioned a carpenter named Daniel Foster to build walkways, stairs, bridges, and ladders from the 315 foot geological monolith, Chimney Rock, to the 404 foot Hickory Nut Falls. Freeman then opened the property to the public for a fee.
In 1902 Lucius B. Morse and his brothers Hiram and Asahel purchased Chimney Rock from Mr. Freeman and started expanding access to the property. The brothers commissioned Guilford Nanney to improve and construct new trails throughout the park. On July 4th, 1916, as the first flag was raised above the Chimney, Chimney Rock Park was officially opened to the public. In 1949 a 258 foot elevator was built inside Chimney Rock Mountain that provided access to the sky lounge and the top of the Chimney.
The Park is open! The elevator is operational. Ticket Plaza hours are 8:30 am to 5:30 pm. Guests can hike until 7 pm.